We welcome any query on Who When Where. If you have previously posted it on another forum (including the old WDYTYA forum), please state this in your opening post - this will save people redoing the research which has been done before: they can look at it and possibly go further with it.

Parents of Thomas Davison

Share your brick walls here, or help others demolish theirs.
Norfolk Nan

Parents of Thomas Davison

Post by Norfolk Nan »

I'm on the hunt for the parents of Thomas Davison, said (on 1861 census) to be born 1799 in Ferryhill, Durham. Ferryhill as a parish didn't exist 1845 and I don't know the area so am hoping someone who does can point me to the right set of records please. Thomas is a ship's carpenter by trade and his first wife, Rose, was born in Rye, Surrey (just for some background info) I only need to find his baptism/parents, nothing else.

Thank you.
VALLMO9

Re: Parents of Thomas Davison

Post by VALLMO9 »

Can I just ask what his birthplace is on other census records?
Norfolk Nan

Post by Norfolk Nan »

Ferryhill, Durham 1851, 1861 but Wickham, Durham 1871 (his last census) - all three wife as Mary from Rye.
VALLMO9

Post by VALLMO9 »

"FERRY-HILL, a township, in the parish of Merrington". Now this is where is gets a bit confusing: Ferryhill parish was created out of Merrington St. John in Sep 1843, but while Merrington is in Auckland civil registration district, Ferryhill was placed in Stockton district. As such, I would focus on c1799 parish baptisms in Merrington and/or Auckland, in the first instance. Note: I do see various records with Ferryhill as a location, circa 1800 and earlier.